Cities4PEDs

Research, Exchange and Collaboration on City Levers to Enable PEDs across Diverging Contexts.

The cities of Brussels, Vienna and Stockholm are working together with academia, experts in innovation and researchers in citizen participation. Together they are exploring how cities can adapt and use their planning and implementation processes and tools to support the development of Positive Energy Districts (PEDs), which produce more energy as they consume.

 

It will as well be analysed whether specific organisational structures can play a facilitating role and how citizens and other local stakeholders can actively participate in PEDs at neighbourhood level. The findings will be reflected within the three cities and with a larger group of cities, the "community of practice" across the EU.

 

UIV is the local coordinator for Vienna and other cities in Austria. In addition, UIV leads the stocktaking process of existing PED projects in European cities and sets up the theoretical framework for the project. Together with the City of Vienna, in particular the MA 20, local and national implementation projects are analysed and discussed in local stakeholder workshops. The results from the workshops are fed into EU-wide working groups, consisting of the city partners.

Contractee

JPI Urban Europe – funding by FFG

Duration

01/2021 – 12/2022

Partners

Architecture Workrooms Brussels, Ville de Bruxelles, Stockholms stad, 3E, City Mine(d) vzw, MA20 – Stadt Wien, Wien 3420 aspern Development AG, Fachhochschule Technikum Wien, WU Wien

Cities4PEDs

Das Projekt erforscht im Austausch mit europäischen Städten die Wirkungshebel von Städten zur Umsetzung von Plus-Energie-Quartieren.

Die Städte Brüssel, Wien und Stockholm arbeiten mit Expertinnen und Experten aus Forschung, Innovation und im Bereich BürgerInnenpartizipation zusammen. Gemeinsam erarbeiten sie, wie Städte ihre Prozesse und Instrumente bei Planung und Umsetzung so anpassen und nutzen können, dass die Entwicklung von Plus-Energie-Quartieren (Positive Energy Districts, PEDs) unterstützt wird. PEDs sind Quartiere, die mehr Energie produzieren, als sie verbrauchen.

 

Dabei wird ebenso analysiert, ob besondere Organisationsstrukturen eine begünstigende Rolle spielen können und wie sich Bürgerinnen und Bürger sowie weitere lokale Interessengruppen auf Quartiersebene aktiv an PEDs beteiligen können. Die Erkenntnisse werden innerhalb der drei Städte sowie mit einer größeren Gruppe von Städten, einer „Community of Practice“ EU-weit reflektiert.

 

Urban Innovation Vienna ist der lokale Koordinator für Wien und weitere Städte in Österreich. Zudem leitet UIV die Bestandaufnahme über vorhandene PED-Projekte in europäischen Städten und setzt den theoretischen Rahmen für das Projekt auf. Gemeinsam mit der Stadt Wien, insbesondere der MA 20, werden lokale und nationale Umsetzungsprojekte zur Analyse herangezogen und in lokalen Stakeholder-Workshops diskutiert. Die Ergebnisse aus den Workshops fließen in EU-weite Arbeitsgruppen ein, wo sie gemeinsam mit den Städte-Partnern analysiert werden.

Auftraggeber

JPI Urban Europe – Förderung durch FFG

Laufzeit

01/2021 – 12/2022

Partner

Architecture Workrooms Brussels, Ville de Bruxelles, Stockholms stad, 3E, City Mine(d) vzw, MA20 – Stadt Wien, Wien 3420 aspern Development AG, Fachhochschule Technikum Wien, WU Wien