© Urban Innovation Vienna

At the cutting edge

Future Cities

More than ever before, cities today are the scene and engine of innovation, growth and economic transformation but, to the same extent, also the focal points of social change. In view of the climate crisis, they are called upon to break new ground while keeping an eye on social balance and equal opportunities. In view of these general conditions for urban politics and administration, acting quickly, flexibly and purposefully is crucial to success.

 

On the cutting edge – analysing trends and developments

 

The Future Cities team supports cities and city administrations and provides intelligence and foundations for future-oriented decisions. At the interface of different political and thematic fields, Future Cities works with domestic and international experts from research, business, urban politics and planning, develops innovative concepts for urban future issues and offers policy-related expertise and advice.

 

Focusing on solutions – strategic advice

 

Future Cities’ analyses and consultations focus on strategic questions of urban development, housing and location policy as well as on future-oriented governance models for the city and metropolitan region. In co-operation with public institutions and the business sector, Future Cities develops strategy documents (such as the Smart City Wien Framework Strategy 2019-2050, the Vienna Urban Development Plan 2025 or the Visitor Economy Strategy 2025), works on proposals and initiatives for contemporary models of participation and co-creation between city, economy and civil society and shows how strategic objectives can be implemented “on the ground” (for example in the context of the Smart City Roadmap).

 

Telling the story – storytelling, communication and information

 

Professional communication and information are an integral part of our work. For us, the focus is not on “How do we sell it?”, but rather on “Why do we do it?” We are interested in the values, attitudes and patterns that lie behind strategic objectives, thematic priorities or concrete projects. Our storytelling therefore does not aim to “narrate fairytales” but provides in-depth reasons and interconnections while exploring the motivations behind actions. This approach also guides our actions when it comes to the implementation of expert dialogues and events – we want to enable serious, tough yet constructive discussions based on facts so as to ensure that participants gain insights and new horizons.

Development Zones
Development zones - a new urban development tool? read more
Vienna’s Urban Development Plan
Guidelines and expertise for successful urban development, “Vienna style” read more
Vienna Housing Research Days
Vienna sets international standards in housing construction. Since 2005, the Viennese professional community has an annual jour fixe. read more
Vienna Visitor Economy Strategy 2025
Vienna Visitor Economy Strategy 2025 Rethinking city tourism – sustainable value added for the destination read more
Co-creative Planning
Ideas for advancing Vienna’s participatory and co-operative culture read more
Smart City Wien – Strategy, Roadmap, Monitoring
Umbrella strategy and roadmap for sustainable development of the city read more
Quality Management in Privately Financed Housing Construction
Approaches to effective governance tools in Vienna read more
Scouting Urban Economy Trends
On the cutting edge: current trends and market developments at a glance read more

© Urban Innovation Vienna

Am Puls der Zeit

Future Cities

Städte sind mehr denn je Schauplatz und Motor von Innovation, Wachstum und wirtschaftlicher Transformation, im gleichen Maß aber auch Brennpunkte des gesellschaftlichen Wandels. Sie sind angesichts der Klimakrise gefordert, neue Wege zu gehen und müssen dabei sozialen Ausgleich und Chancengerechtigkeit im Blick haben. Rasch, agil und zielgerichtet zu handeln, ist angesichts dieser Rahmenbedingungen für städtische Politik und Verwaltung erfolgsentscheidend.

Am Puls der Zeit – Analyse von Trends und Entwicklungen

 

Das Team von Future Cities unterstützt Städte und Stadtverwaltungen dabei und liefert Analysen und Grundlagen für zukunftsfähige Entscheidungen. An der Schnittstelle unterschiedlicher Politik- und Themenfelder arbeitet Future Cities mit heimischen und internationalen ExpertInnen aus Forschung, Wirtschaft, Stadtpolitik und Planung zusammen, entwirft innovative Konzepte für urbane Zukunftsfragen und bietet politiknahe Expertise und Beratung.

 

Lösungen im Blick - Strategische Beratung

 

Im Mittelpunkt der Analysen und Beratungen von Future Cities stehen strategische Fragen der Stadtentwicklungs-, Wohnbau- und Standortpolitik sowie zukunftsfähige Governance- und Steuerungsmodelle für Stadt und Metropolregion. Future Cities erarbeitet im Zusammenspiel mit städtischen Einrichtungen und der Wirtschaft Strategiedokumente (so etwa zuletzt die Smart City Wien Rahmenstrategie 2019-2050, den Wiener Stadtentwicklungsplan 2025 oder die Visitor Economy Strategie 2025), entwickelt Vorschläge und Initiativen für zeitgemäße Modelle von Partizipation und Ko-Kreation zwischen Stadt, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft und zeigt auf, wie strategische Zielsetzungen „on the ground“ implementiert werden können (etwa im Rahmen der Smart City Roadmap).

 

Die Geschichte erzählen – Storytelling, Kommunikation und Information

 

Professionelle Kommunikation und Information ist integraler Bestandteil unserer Arbeit. Dabei steht für uns aber nicht die Frage, „Wie verkaufen wir es?“ im Mittelpunkt, sondern vielmehr „Warum tun wir es?“. Uns interessieren die Werte, Haltungen und Muster, die hinter strategischen Zielsetzungen, inhaltlichen Schwerpunktsetzungen oder konkreten Projekten liegen. Unser Storytelling ist daher kein „G’schichtln erzählen“, sondern liefert Begründungen, Zusammenhänge und macht Handlungen nachvollziehbar. Diese Herangehensweise ist für uns auch bei der Umsetzung von Fachdialogen und Veranstaltungen handlungsanleitend – wir wollen ernsthafte Diskussion und eine harte aber sachliche Auseinandersetzung ermöglichen, die TeilnehmerInnen einen Erkenntnis- und Horizontgewinn sichert.

Entwicklungszonen
Entwicklungszonen – ein neues Instrument der Stadtentwicklung? read more
Wiener Stadtentwicklungsplan
Leitlinien und Expertise für eine erfolgreiche „Stadtentwicklung à la Vienne“ read more
Wiener Wohnbauforschungstage
Wien setzt im Wohnbau international Maßstäbe. Seit 2005 hat die Wiener Fachcommunity ihren Jour-fixe. read more
Wiener Visitor Economy Strategie 2025
Tourismus neu gedacht – nachhaltiger Mehrwert für die Destination read more
Ko-kreative Planung
Ideen für die Weiterentwicklung der Beteiligungs- und Kooperationskultur in Wien read more
Smart City Wien – Strategie, Roadmap, Monitoring
Zukunftsstrategie und Fahrplan für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung der Stadt read more
Qualitätssicherung im freifinanzierten Wohnbau
Ansatzpunkte für eine effektive Steuerung in Wien read more
Trendforschung Stadtökonomie
Am Puls der Zeit: Aktuelle Trends und Marktentwicklungen im Blick read more