© Urban Innovation Vienna

Diverse challenges

International site competition, global competition surrounding talent, business and capital, technological transformations, and globalised migration are just a few of the factors currently coming into a concentrated effect in metropolises and demanding structured action to facilitate prosperity, social cohesion, and quality of life. Today, cities find themselves in a completely new stage of development with currently unknown political challenges, but also opportunities to exert influence. Now more than ever, political decisions must take local circumstances and requirements into account as much as global framework conditions. The services of Urban Innovation Vienna are diverse and can be used in a combination of ways depending on the task and thematic area.

New Housing
Most large cities suffer from a lack of sufficient affordable and high-quality living space, threatening the quality of life for everyone, as well as social cohesion. read more
World City
What defines Vienna’s self-awareness as a global city are cosmopolitan openness, innovative site offerings, a highly-skilled workforce, high quality of life, and social balance. read more
Digital City
Whether it’s about the working world, housing, mobility, education, or services, the digital transformation affects all areas of life and is vastly changing urban society. read more
Urban Development
As an all-inclusive discipline that requires the integration of a variety of interests from planning, economy, and society to participation, urban development has become a highly dynamic policy area. read more
Future Mobility
How smart urban mobility will be in the future depends on the opportunities for moving it forward as intermodally as possible and in accordance with the sharing principle. read more
Smart Governance
Cities have to be robust and flexible, diverse and communal, creative and solid, and many other things all at the same time. Simple governance is not enough, but rather smart governance is needed and turns things upside-down. read more
Energy & Climate
The agglomeration of housing, production, consumption, and mobility especially challenges cities in terms of climate protection and in climate adaption. The discussion focusses on reducing energy consumption, switching to renewable energy, and energy-minimised urban development. read more
City Economy
The global economy has redefined the rules of cities as business centres: High competitiveness, international networking, and permanent innovation are the ingredients for success. read more

Vielfältige Herausforderungen

Internationale Standortkonkurrenz, weltweiter Wettbewerb um Talente, Unternehmen und Kapital, technologische Umbrüche und globalisierte Migration sind nur einige der Faktoren, die gerade in Metropolen in konzentrierter Form wirksam werden und strukturiertes Handeln fordern, um Prosperität, sozialen Zusammenhalt und Lebensqualität zu ermöglichen. Städte befinden sich heute in einer völlig neuen Entwicklungsphase mit bisher ungekannten politischen Herausforderungen, aber auch Möglichkeiten der Einflussnahme. Politische Entscheidungen müssen mehr denn je lokale Gegebenheiten und Erfordernisse ebenso berücksichtigen wie globale Rahmenbedingungen. Die Leistungen von Urban Innovation Vienna sind vielfältig und kommen je nach Aufgabenstellung und Themenbereich unterschiedlich kombiniert zum Einsatz.

Neues Wohnen
Die meisten Großstädte leiden darunter, dass nicht genügend leistbarer und qualitativ hochwertiger Wohnraum zur Verfügung steht und damit Lebensqualität für alle und sozialer Zusammenhalt gefährdet werden. read more
Weltstadt
Charakteristisch für Wiens Selbstverständnis als Weltstadt sind kosmopolitische Offenheit, innovative Standortangebote, hochkompetente Arbeitskräfte, hohe Lebensqualität und soziale Ausgewogenheit. read more
Digitale Stadt
Egal ob es um Arbeitswelt, Wohnen, Mobilität, Bildung oder Services geht, die digitale Transformation wirkt in allen Bereichen und verändert die Stadtgesellschaft massiv. read more
Stadtentwicklung
Als allumfassende Disziplin, die von Planung, über Ökonomie und Gesellschaft bis hin zu Partizipation eine Vielzahl von Interessen zu integrieren hat, ist Stadtentwicklung zu einem hoch dynamischen Politikfeld geworden. read more
Zukunft Mobilität
Wie smart urbane Mobilität in der Zukunft sein wird, hängt von den Möglichkeiten ab, sich bestmöglich intermodal und nach dem sharing-Prinzip fortbewegen zu können. read more
Smart Governance
Städte müssen robust und flexibel, divers und gemeinschaftlich, kreativ und solide und vieles andere zugleich sein. Regieren ist zu wenig, smarte Governance ist gefragt, und das stellt Gewohnheiten auf den Kopf. read more
Energie & Klima
Die Ballung von Wohnen, Produktion, Konsum und Mobilität fordert Städte im Klimaschutz und in der Klimaadaption besonders heraus. Reduktion des Energieverbrauchs, Umstieg auf erneuerbare Energie und energieminimierende Stadtentwicklng stehen im Zentrum der Diskussion. read more
Stadtwirtschaft
Die globale Wirtschaft hat die Regeln für Städte als Wirtschaftsstandorte neu definiert: hohe Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, internationale Vernetzung und permanente Innovation sind die Ingredienzien für Erfolg. read more