Cities are our passion

About

Urban Innovation Vienna has been the new competence centre for future urban issues in Vienna since 2017. Urban Innovation Vienna was established to develop innovative strategies for overcoming the diverse and complex agendas of a city through dialogue with decision makers from politics, administration, and businesses, and to lead international discourse on the subject.

The core mission of Urban Innovation Vienna is to assist in accomplishing future urban tasks with interdisciplinary expertise. Urban Innovation Vienna relies on broad technical know-how, international contacts and networks, and innovative process and problem-solving skills, which were built up by the previously separately functioning TINA Vienna and europaforum wien institutions in the last twenty years. With the complete merger between both companies at the beginning of 2017, Urban Innovation now combines their existing resources to offer a wide-ranging portfolio of professional expertise.

 

Service portfolio

 

The services offered by Urban Innovation Vienna are diverse and can be used in a range of combinations depending on the task:

In its role as a think tank, Urban Innovation Vienna seeks out international trends, initiatives, and models, and analyses current developments as well as research on urban issues. Urban Innovation Vienna then contributes the knowledge gained here to open discourse with local experts so that proactive and creative strategies can be drawn up for Vienna.

 

In its role as a service provider, Urban Innovation Vienna designs and organises strategic processes, dialogue forums, technical workshops, and international conferences. At the same time, it makes current and future issues concerning urban development accessible to an interested public in a comprehensible and low-threshold manner, for example, through the city-wide “Smart City” and “Digital City” initiatives.

 

Finally, in its role as a Viennese hub, Urban Innovation Vienna views itself as a growing network of partner institutions and experts within different cities, active takes part in international specialist discourse, and promotes Vienna’s expertise and excellence.

 

Supervisory Board

 

Chairperson: 
DI Thomas Madreiter, Planning Director - Chief Executive Office - Executive Group for Construction and Technology

 

Deputy Chairperson: 
Smajo Pasalic, BA MA, Office Manager, Administrative Group for Finance, Business, Digital Innovation and International Affairs

 

Other members:

Mag. Herbert Bartik, Employee Representation

Ing. Georg Lammel, MA, Referee, Administrative Group for Urban Development, Traffic & Transport, Climate Protection, Energy Planning and Public Participation

Dr.in Pamela Mühlmann, Employee Representation

Mag.a Sigrid Semlitsch, Head of the department "International Activities" of the Municipal Department 17 - Integration and Diversity

Dr. Günther Smutny, Office of the Chief Executive Office

Mag. Bernd Vogl, Head of the Municipal Department 20 - Energy Planning

Matthias Watzak-Helmer, MSc, Employee Representation

Stadt ist unsere Leidenschaft

About

Mit Urban Innovation Vienna hat Wien seit 2017 ein neues Kompetenzzentrum für städtische Zukunftsfragen. Urban Innovation Vienna ist mit dem Anspruch angetreten, im Dialog mit Verantwortlichen aus Politik, Verwaltung und Unternehmen innovative Strategien für die Bewältigung der vielfältigen und komplexen Agenden einer Stadt zu entwickeln und auch im internationalen Diskurs Themenführerschaft zu übernehmen.

Kernaufgabe von Urban Innovation Vienna ist es, mit interdisziplinärerer Expertise einen Beitrag zur Bewältigung städtischer Zukunftsaufgaben zu leisten. Urban Innovation Vienna greift dabei auf seine breite fachliche Expertise, auf internationalen Kontakte und Netzwerke sowie auf die innovative Prozess- und Lösungskompetenz zurück, die von den bisher getrennt agierenden Einrichtungen TINA Vienna und europaforum wien in den vergangenen zwanzig Jahren aufgebaut worden sind. Mit der Anfang 2017 vollzogenen Fusion der beiden Unternehmen bündelt Urban Innovation nun die vorhandenen Ressourcen und bietet ein umfassendes Portfolio an inhaltlicher Kompetenz.

 

 

Leistungsportfolio

 

Die Leistungen von Urban Innovation Vienna sind vielfältig und kommen je nach Aufgabenstellung unterschiedlich kombiniert zum Einsatz:

Als „Think Tank“ spürt Urban Innovation Vienna internationale Trends, Initiativen und Modelle auf und analysiert aktuelle Entwicklungen wie auch Forschungen zu stadtrelevante Fragestellungen. Dabei gewonnenes Know-how bringt Urban Innovation Vienna in einen offenen Diskurs mit lokalen ExpertInnen ein, um Strategien für Wien vorausschauend und kreativ gestalten zu können.

Als Service Provider konzipiert und organisiert Urban Innovation Vienna Strategieprozesse, Dialogforen, Fachworkshops und internationale Konferenzen. Zugleich werden aktuelle und künftige Themen der städtischen Entwicklung in nachvollziehbarer und niederschwelliger Art einer interessierten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht, etwa zu den gesamtstädtischen Initiativen „Smart City“ und „Digital City“.

Und schließlich versteht sich Urban Innovation Vienna als Wiener Knoten in einem wachsenden Netzwerk von Partnereinrichtungen und ExpertInnen in anderen Städten, beteiligt sich aktiv an internationalen Fachdiskursen und promotet Wiens Kompetenz und Exzellenz.

 

 

Aufsichtsrat

 

Vorsitzender: 
KR Peter Hanke, Geschäftsführer der Wien Holding GmbH

 

Stellvertreter des Vorsitzenden: 
DI Thomas Madreiter, Planungsdirektor - Magistratsdirektion - Stadtbaudirektion

 

weitere Mitglieder:

Mag.(FH) Birgit Ginzler, Arbeitnehmervertretung

Ing. Georg Lammel, Budgetkoordinator der GGr. SK, Magistratsabteilung 18 - Budget, Personal und Steuerung und Budgetkoordinator der GGr. SK, Büro der Geschäftsgruppe - Stadtentwicklung, Verkehr, Klimaschutz, Energieplanung und BürgerInnenbeteiligung

Mag.a Sigrid Semlitsch, Referentin, Büro der Geschäftsgruppe - Finanzen, Wirtschaftspolitik und Internationales

Dr. Günther Smutny, Büro Magistratsdirektion

Mag. Bernd Vogl, Dienststellenleiter, Magistratsabteilung 20, Energieplanung

Matthias Watzak-Helmer, MSc, Arbeitnehmervertretung