The Big Transformers

“Sharing” and “on-demand economy” on the rise.

The widescale spread of the internet and smartphones are turning the sharing and on-demand economy into a dynamic growth market, where globally acting companies have established themselves. Cities are under pressure to keep up, develop suitable strategies that do not stall the “sharing” thoughts yet ensure fair competition.

 

In the past few years, a commercially shaped sharing economy has been developed - “Sharing instead of owning” has become a business model. New technologies are creating new opportunities to bring entrepreneurs and clients together quickly and in accordance with their needs. An on-demand economy has arisen which is changing corporate structures and professional careers. The market dynamics are high – within a few years, a colourful sharing and platform landscape has been developed, which offers cleaning services and food as well as financial services. This development is generating chances for entrepreneurial action and job growth, however at the same time, it is introducing new challenges for the social state and the tax system.

 

The Big Transformers” study takes the transport and hospitality sector into particular account. In these sectors, globally active companies have been established in just a few years, such as Airbnb and Uber, which represent a special challenge for existing state regulatory systems and established market players due to their market power. Based on an analysis of the company, a risk-opportunity assessment, and a glance at the procedures of other cities, options for action are being developed for Vienna that do not “stall” the sharing economy, but should instead create applicable rules of play.

 

At the beginning of 2017, the study was complemented by an international comparison of four case studies – the cities of Amsterdam, Barcelona, Berlin, and Paris –, which demonstrate the wide range of different strategies and measures set by cities to deal with current development trends. more

 

The studies by UIV (and previously europaforum wien) also form the basis for various formats of international dialogue, such as an international conference organised on behalf of MA 23 in November 2015: Under the motto “Local Heroes & Global Players. How fair is the sharing economy?”, this shed light on various aspects of the subject, which was discussed with international experts. In March 2017, the latest analysis results were presented as part of a European Cities Conference in Vienna.

Contractee

City of Vienna, Municipal Department 23 – Economic Affairs, Labour and Statistics

Duration

03/2015 - 03/2017

The Big Transformers

„Sharing“ und „On-demand econonomy” auf dem Vormarsch.

Die massenhafte Verbreitung von Internet und Smartphone machen die Sharing- und On-Demand-Economy zu einem dynamischen Wachstumsmarkt, in dem sich global agierende Unternehmen etabliert haben. Städte geraten zunehmend unter Zugzwang, geeignete Strategien zu entwickeln, die den „Sharing“-Gedanken nicht abwürgen, aber gleichzeitig für fairen Wettbewerb sorgen.

 

In den letzen Jahren hat sich eine kommerziell geprägte Sharing-Economy entwickelt - „Teilen statt besitzen“ ist zum Geschäftsmodell geworden. Neue Technologien schaffen neue Möglichkeiten, UnternehmerInnen und KundInnen rasch und bedarfsorientiert zusammenzubringen. Es entsteht eine On-Demand-Ökonomie, die Unternehmensstrukturen und Berufskarrieren verändert. Die Marktdynamik ist hoch – innerhalb weniger Jahre hat sich eine bunte Sharing- und Plattform-Landschaft entwickelt, die Putzservices und Essen ebenso anbietet wie Finanzdienstleitungen. Diese Entwicklung schafft Chancen für unternehmerisches Handeln und Jobwachstum, gleichzeitig bringt sie aber neue Herausforderungen für den Sozialstaat und das Steuersystem.

 

Die Studie „The Big Transformers“ nimmt insbesondere das Transport- und Beherbergungswesen in den Blick. In diesen Bereichen haben sich u.a. mit Airbnb und Uber in wenigen Jahren global agierende Unternehmen etabliert, die aufgrund ihrer Marktmacht eine besondere Herausforderung für bestehende staatliche Regulierungssysteme und etablierte MarktteilnehmerInnen darstellen. Basierend auf einer Analyse der Unternehmen, einer Chancen-Risken-Abschätzung sowie einem Blick auf die Vorgehensweise anderer Städte werden Handlungsoptionen für Wien entwickelt, die die Sharing Economy nicht „abwürgen“, sondern praktikable Spielregeln schaffen sollen.

 

Ergänzt wurde die Studie Anfang 2017 durch einen internationalen Vergleich von vier Case Studies – den Städten Amsterdam, Barcelona, Berlin und Paris – die das weite Spektrum der unterschiedlichen Strategien und Maßnahmen von Städten im Umgang mit den aktuellen Entwicklungstrends aufzeigen. mehr

 

Die Studien von UIV (und zuvor europaforum wien) bilden auch die Grundlage von unterschiedlichen Formaten des internationalen Dialogs, so etwa einer im Auftrag der MA 23 organisierten internationalen Konferenz im November 2015: Unter dem Motto „Local Heroes & Global Players. Wie fair ist die Sharing Economy?“ wurden unterschiedliche Facetten der Thematik beleuchtet und mit internationalen ExpertInnen diskutiert. Im März 2017 wurden die jüngsten Analyseergebnisse im Rahmen einer Europäischen Städtekonferenz in Wien präsentiert.

Auftraggeber

Stadt Wien, MA 23 – Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Statistik

Laufzeit

03/2015 - 03/2017