DBS Gateway Region

Regional and transport development in the Danube-Black Sea Region towards a transnational cross-port gateway region.

The “Danube-Black Sea (DBS) Gateway Region” project is aimed at supporting the development of the Danube-Black Sea region as a gateway for sustainable and eco-friendly goods transport between Central Europe and the Black Sea, the Caspian region, and the Far East. Through the overlapping cooperation between ports and their hinterland regions, as well as responsible ministries, authorities, and economic agencies, joint aspirations, objectives, and opportunities for implementation are being sounded out.

 

This joint access should improve the reachability of the regions and increase the interoperability between deep sea and inland waterways, as well as the connection with the hinterland regions. Together with the increase in awareness of intermodal transport options, this will lead to existing and new cargo flows being replaced by eco-friendly transport systems.

 

Currently, the potential of waterways is limited by existing infrastructure, as well as opaquely and inefficiently used options. In addition to well-known infrastructural bottlenecks, the project seeks out innovative solutions which facilitate a better use of the transport system through an intensified exchange of information, as well as by improving communication between key players at the intermodal interfaces.

 

Cooperation alone will not lead to the desired result. A solid foundation of information (potential analysis, road map), preparation (project list and promotion guidelines), focus (joint vision, cooperation strategy), and support (cooperation platform exceeding the project duration) are also required.

 

The specific objectives of the project are:

  • To create a cooperative basis where relevant stakeholders can work towards developing the DBS Gateway Region together;
  • To create a foundation upon which the region can assume and continue the envisioned role as the DBS Gateway Region through the increased appeal of inland water transport;
  • To strengthen cooperation between relevant players through an institutional platform, so that the DBS Gateway Region can continue development even after the end of the project.

 

The project is co-financed by the European Regional Development Fund.

Duration

01/2017 - 06/2019

Partners

Amt der Niederösterreichischen Landesregierung (project lead)

Public Ports, Slovakia

Freeport of Budapest Logistics, Hungary

Port Authority Vukovar, Croatia

Bulgarian Ports Infrastructure Company, Bulgaria

Municipality of Burgas, Bulgaria

Municipality of Varna, Bulgaria

Municipality of Galati, Romania

University of Novi Sad, Faculty of Technical Sciences, Serbia

DBS Gateway Region

Regional- und Verkehrsentwicklung in der Donau-Schwarzmeerregion in Richtung einer transnationalen hafen├╝bergreifenden Gateway Region.

Das Projekt „Danube-Black Sea (DBS) Gateway Region“ zielt darauf ab, die Entwicklung des Donau-Schwarzmeerraumes als „Gateway“ für nachhaltigen und umweltfreundlichen Gütertransport zwischen Zentraleuropa und dem Schwarzen Meer, der kaspischen Region und dem fernen Osten zu unterstützen. Durch die übergreifende Kooperation zwischen Häfen und deren Hinterlandregionen sowie der zuständigen Ministerien, Behörden und Wirtschaftsagenturen werden gemeinsame Visionen, Ziele und Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten ausgelotet.

 

Dieser gemeinsame Zugang soll die Erreichbarkeit der Regionen verbessern, die Interoperabilität zwischen Hochsee- und Binnenwasserwegen, sowie die Verbindung zum Hinterland stärken. Gemeinsam mit der Erhöhung des Bewusstseins für die Möglichkeiten des intermodalen Verkehrs wird dies dazu führen, dass bestehende und neue Frachtströme auf umweltfreundliche Verkehrssysteme verlagert werden.

 

Momentan wird das Potenzial der Wasserstraße aufgrund bestehender Infrastruktur, sowie intransparenter und ineffizient genutzter Angebote limitiert. Das Projekt sucht neben den bekannten infrastrukturellen Engpässen nach innovativen Lösungen, die es durch intensivierten Austausch von Informationen sowie der Verbesserung der Kommunikation zwischen den Akteuren an den in­termodalen Schnittstellen ermöglichen, das Transportsystem besser zu nutzen.

 

Kooperation alleine wird nicht zum gewünschten Resultat führen. Es bedarf auch einer soliden Grundlage an Information (Potenzialanalyse, Road Map), Vorbereitung (Projektliste und Förderungsrichtlinie), Fokussierung (Joint Vision, Kooperationsstrategie) und Unterstützung (Kooperationsplattform, die über die Projektdauer hinausgeht).

 

Die spezifischen Ziele des Projektes sind:

  • eine Kooperationsbasis zu schaffen, auf der die relevanten Stakeholder ge­meinsam auf die Entwicklung der DBS Gateway Region hinarbeiten;
  • durch die erhöhte Attraktivität des Binnenwasserstraßentransports, eine Grundlage zu schaffen, auf der die Region die angedachte Rolle als DBS Gateway Region einnehmen und weiterführen kann;
  • mit einer institutionellen Plattform die Kooperation zwischen relevanten Akteuren zu stärken, damit die DBS Gateway Region auch nach Ende des Projektes weiterentwickelt werden kann.

 

Dieses Projekt wird aus Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung kofinanziert.

Laufzeit

01/2017 - 06/2019

Partner

Amt der Niederösterreichischen Landesregierung (Projektleitung)

Public Ports, Slowakei

Freeport of Budapest Logistics, Ungarn

Port Authority Vukovar, Kroatien

Bulgarian Ports Infrastructure Company, Bulgarien

Municipality of Burgas, Bulgarien

Municipality of Varna, Bulgarien

Municipality of Galati, Rumänien

University of Novi Sad, Faculty of Technical Sciences, Serbien