© Urban Innovation Vienna

CapaCity – Urban Competences

In 2016, the CapaCity – Urban Competences programme was established as a follow-up project of the DonauHanse cities network.

In 2016, the CapaCity – Urban Competences programme was established, which brought about the initial impulse for joint activities between the City of Vienna/municipal companies/Viennese businesses and selected cities in Central and Eastern Europe and beyond through workshops. These activities range from establishing joint networks, impulses for the continuation of planned activities as part of existing collaborations, and generating project ideas for projects co-financed by the EU to the sales opportunities and marketing activities of Viennese services.

 

The programme is organised by the Municipal Department (MA) 27 for European Affairs and operated by UIV Urban Innovation GmbH.

 

Challenges. Urban centres are facing great challenges. The disassociation of development from energy consumption and population growth; the creation of cost-effective, multi-functional, economical, as well as practical living space; the use of innovative technologies in the water, security, ICT, transport, energy industries, etc. as well as the necessity for resource-conserving concepts and coupled with changing framework conditions represent just a few of the most relevant topics of current and future urban development. Numerous cities and regions, predominantly in Central and South-East Europe, are facing heavy demands from these new developments and are looking for support in partnership structures increasingly frequently. Not least, the City of Vienna already has an excellent reputation due to all of its previous international activities. In the past years, it has registered a sharply rising demand for both information and concrete aid in pressing communal problems.

 

Opportunities. The City of Vienna plays an essential and responsible role in Central and South-East Europe. It actively participates in international networks, dialogues, decision processes, clearly defines its viewpoints, and is constantly introducing initiatives responsibly. The City of Vienna promotes long-term contacts and knowledge exchange between European cities and regions and pursues joint solution- and implementation-oriented collaborations. In this way, its own urban activities can be raised to a higher-quality level. The City of Vienna’s constant exchange with international partners is not only leading to the circulation of Viennese knowledge, but also ensuring that international know-how is accordingly brought back to Vienna.

 

Objective. Based on the situation of need described above, a significant aspiration of the City of Vienna is to pass on know-how in the framework of demand-oriented and tailored workshops and to guarantee an information and cooperation process on both sides. With the help of this newly acquired knowledge, the partners should be supported in the ability to solve their infrastructural and procedural communal problems more easily. As a result, relevant implementation projects should be initiated together with Viennese involvement and European funding be obtained if possible.

Contractee

City of Vienna, Municipal Department 27 - European Affairs

Duration

01/2016 - 12/2017

© Urban Innovation Vienna

CapaCity – Urban Competences

Im Jahr 2016 wurde das Programm CapaCity – Urban Competences als Nachfolgeprojekt des Städtenetzwerk DonauHanse etabliert.

Im Jahr 2016 wurde das Programm CapaCity – Urban Competences etabliert, welches durch Workshops die Initialzündung zu gemeinsamen Aktivitäten zwischen der Stadt Wien/städtischen Unternehmen/Wiener Unternehmen und ausgewählten Städten in Mittel- und Osteuropa und darüber hinaus bewirkte. Diese Aktivitäten erstrecken sich über die Etablierung gemeinsamer Netzwerke, Impulse für die Fortführung geplanter Aktivitäten im Rahmen existierender Zusammenarbeit, Generierung von Projektideen für EU-kofinanzierte Projekte, bis zu Vertriebsmöglichkeiten und Werbeaktivitäten von Wiener Dienstleistungen.

 

Das Programm wird von der Magistratsabteilung (MA) 27 – Europäische Angelegenheiten ausgerichtet und operationell von UIV Urban Innovation GmbH ausgeführt.

 

Herausforderungen. Urbane Zentren stehen vor großen Herausforderungen. Die Entkoppelung der Entwicklung von Energieverbrauch und Bevölkerungswachstum; die Schaffung von günstigem, multifunktionalem, sparsamem wie zweckmäßigem Wohnraum; der Einsatz von innovativen Technologien in den Bereichen Wasser, Sicherheit, IKT, Verkehr, Energie etc. sowie die Notwendigkeit ressourcenschonender Konzepte und damit einhergehender zu ändernder Rahmenbedingungen stellen nur einige der relevantesten Themenfelder aktueller und zukünftiger Stadtentwicklung dar. Zahlreiche Städte und Regionen, vorwiegend in Mittel– und Südosteuropa, sind durch diese Entwicklungen stark gefordert und suchen immer häufiger nach Unterstützung in partnerschaftlichen Strukturen. Die Stadt Wien hat nicht zuletzt aufgrund von internationalen Aktivitäten einen hervorragenden Ruf. In den letzten Jahren verzeichnet sie eine stark steigende Nachfrage sowohl nach Informationen als auch nach konkreter Hilfe bei dringend zu lösenden kommunalen Problemen.

 

Chancen. Die Stadt Wien nimmt eine wesentliche und verantwortungsvolle Rolle in Mittel- und Südosteuropa ein. Sie beteiligt sich aktiv an internationalen Netzwerken, Dialogen und Entscheidungsprozessen, formuliert klar ihre Standpunkte und setzt immer wieder federführend Initiativen. Die Stadt Wien fördert proaktiv langfristige Kontakte und Wissensaustausch zwischen europäischen Städten und Regionen bzw. verfolgt gemeinsame lösungs- und umsetzungsorientierte Kooperationen. Eigene städtische Aktivitäten können damit auf ein qualitativ höheres Level gehoben werden. Durch den steten Austausch der Stadt Wien mit internationalen PartnerInnen, entsteht nicht nur die Weitergabe von Wiener Wissen, sondern es wird auch ein entsprechender Rücklauf von internationalem Know-How nach Wien sichergestellt.

 

Zielsetzung. Es ist ein wesentliches Bestreben der Stadt Wien, Know-How strukturiert im Rahmen von nachfragegerechten und maßgeschneiderten Workshops weiterzugeben, bzw. einen beiderseitigen Informations- und Kooperationsprozess zu gewährleisten. Mit Hilfe dieses neu gewonnenen Wissens sollen die Partner unterstützt werden, ihre infrastruktur- und prozessualen kommunalen Problemstellungen leichter lösen zu können. Gemeinsam sollen in Folge relevante Umsetzungsprojekte mit Wiener Beteiligung angestoßen und dabei gegebenenfalls auch europäische Fördermittel lukriert werden.

Auftraggeber

Stadt Wien, MA 27 - Europäische Angelegenheiten 

Laufzeit

01/2016 - 12/2017